All About The Anorexic Experiment Part 2

Posted: June 26, 2017 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

What inspired me to write The Anorexic Experiment?

The Anorexic Experiment, like Illegally Innocent, was a book I started writing in college. I may or may not have had a tendency over the years to get a strong start on writing a book and then get a different idea and start working on that one. 🙂 When I was in college, xangas were all the rage. In case you’ve never heard of a xanga (pronounced “zanga”), a xanga is just a blog. I don’t know if WordPress even existed back then, but if you wanted a blog, xanga was considered to be the way to go. Anyway, several of my friends had one, and I finally joined it and wrote mostly short, ridiculous posts that contained inside jokes that only my dormmates would understand. Xanga had these things called “blog rings” where you could join groups of other xanga members who wrote on similar topics as you.

One day I was browsing random xangas (as one does when procrastinating on research papers and such), and I stumbled across a blog ring full of people who wrote about eating disorders. I was alarmed to discover that these people (primarily females) were posting about their weight, their food intake for the day (many times drastically low), and all sorts of “inspiration” to give readers ideas on how to be anorexic and bulimic. I read posts from several of these blogs and was so bothered by one that I commented on one of her posts. She responded on one of my posts. It was so long ago that I don’t remember what I said or what she said, and I can’t find it now. The whole situation affected me so much, though, that it stuck with me and I decided to write about it. I wrote just two or three chapters of it while in college and set it aside until a few years ago when I decided to work on it some more.

Leave a Reply

