I am THRILLED to announce the second annual “Reader Issue” contest! 🙂 Here are the details: Last fall I invited everyone to submit pieces of their own writing (including poems, short stories, creative nonfiction, and articles) for a contest–two judges and I picked five winners, and each winner received a $15 Amazon.com gift card, along with having his/her piece published in my January 2013 e-newsletter. (You can subscribe to my monthly e-newsletter by visiting the homepage of www.angelabaconbooks.com and hovering over the black, white, and red banner that says “Welcome to AngelaBaconBooks.com”–a message will appear that says “Click here to subscribe.”) The judges and I had a ton of fun reading everyone’s entries last year!

The second year of this contest has begun, and I am accepting entries between now and Thursday, October 31, 2013. There will be five winners again this year, and each winner will receive a $15 Amazon.com gift card and will have his/her entry published in my January 2014 e-newsletter. I will notify the winners on or before January 1, 2014. Check out the rules below:

1.   I will accept submissions beginning now through October 31, 2013. If you submit something after that date, it is not a valid submission and will not be considered for the contest.

2.   Whether you are five years old or 105, you are welcome to submit a piece for this contest. There are no age limits.

3.   If you were one of the five winners who appeared in the January 2013 newsletter, you must take a year off. You will be allowed to submit again next year for the third annual “Reader Issue” contest.

4.   I will accept poems, short stories, creative nonfiction pieces, and articles for this contest. Whichever category you choose, your submission must be no longer than 5,000 words.

5.  Each person may submit up to two pieces.

6.  When you submit your piece, please send it to angela@angelabaconbooks.com. In the subject of your email, put “Reader Issue.” In the body of the email, list your name; home (or mailing) address; email address; phone number; and the title and category of your work (article, poem, short story, or creative nonfiction) and then provide the work as an attachment.

7.  Before you email me your piece, consider the following: 

A.     How is the grammar and overall sentence structure of your submission?

B.     Did you follow directions regarding how to submit your piece—including your name, address, etc. in the body of the email?

C.     Is your submission 5,000 words or fewer? (If you’re submitting two pieces, each piece can be up to 5,000 words.)

D.     Is your submission appropriate? If you would rate it worse than PG, there is a strong possibility that much of my e-newsletter audience (which covers a wide range of ages and belief systems) will be offended, and I most likely will not print it.

E.      Is it well-written? Did you spend a significant amount of time on it, or did you just throw it together in a few minutes?

           F.      Entertainment value—I am looking for something that holds my interest and will make me want to keep reading after the first page (or in the case of a shorter piece, it will make me want to keep reading after the first few lines).

Have any questions? Email me at angela@angelabaconbooks.com, and I will gladly answer them. 🙂 Can’t wait to read your entries! If you have a blog or website, I’d love it if you’d promote this contest on your site as well! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

