The Flu Vaccine

Posted: February 18, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

My cousin Jessica asked me my opinion on flu shots a few days ago and suggested that I blog about it. I think that’s a great idea, so here I go!

I know this is quite a controversial topic, and ultimately YOU need to look at all of the studies and decide whether the flu shot is right for you. I also realize that it’s getting late in the season, and if you were going to get a flu shot this year, most of you have already done so. So although this post probably won’t help you out for this winter, maybe it will help you with making decisions next winter.

I have never gotten a flu shot, so I don’t have any personal stories for you related to whether it kept me from getting the flu or not. I have noticed that it seems like a lot of the people I know who get the flu shot seem to end up getting sick anyway. An interesting article on the Alliance for Natural Health website called “Not Sure the Flu Vaccine Works?” says that out of the adults in a study who did not get vaccinated, just 2.7% contracted the flu. Out of the people who did get the flu shot, 1.2% ended up with the flu anyway. You can see this article here: http://www.anh-usa.org/not-sure-the-flu-vaccine-works/. So you actually have pretty good odds of not getting the flu even if you avoid the shot. Even on the website www.flu.gov, it says, “Mild reactions such as soreness, headaches, and fever are common side effects of the flu vaccine.” I don’t know about you, but to me, those common side effects sound a lot like the flu itself. If the flu is a side effect of the flu shot, did the flu shot really do its job?

Something else you need to be aware of is that flu shots contain mercury (also known as thimerosal), which contributes to neurological problems, including autism. Thimerosal is used as a preservative in flu shots. For some reason, although mercury is starting to be banned in other products, it is still included in flu shots. You can read about mercury in this article: http://www.anh-usa.org/global-treaty-will-nix-mercurybut-not-in-vaccines/.

I also think this is interesting: In order to decide what types of viruses to put in the flu vaccine, experts predict which viruses they think will be the most common that particular year (see www.flu.gov). How can they really decide that so early on in the year? This past fall I started noticing places advertising flu vaccines as early as the first couple of weeks of September. If the experts make an incorrect prediction, then your flu shot may have been a waste of time and money.

If you are caught between the two sides of this argument, I only ask that you do some of your own research. You have to decide what’s best for YOU and your health.

*I am not a doctor. Please consult a healthcare professional before taking any medical advice I give on my blog, especially if you are nursing or pregnant.*

Comments
  1. Candice says:

    I’ve heard so many things with the flu this year and it seems like there is more flu like symptoms from other viruses that people don’t know what is the flu or something else. I started hearing on the news about the SARS virus and only a hand full of people have gotten it and I believe a few people have died. This is something new and I think it’s in Europe where it was starting out. I’ve never had the flu shot and haven’t had the flu in years. I’ve talked to people who have had it and 8 out 10 said they got sick after they got the shot. I also noticed about my habits of keeping germs off me and I haven’t (knock on wood) gotten sick, not even a cold! Since I work at a store, germs are all around! I keep my hands from my face since I heard that if you touch your mouth and I believe your eyes, the germs enter the body and start to spread, don’t eat what people are sharing at work no matter how good it looks, and wash hands before eating. I keep hand sanitizer in my car and use that before eating cause I touch door handles on my way out for break. I don’t sneeze on my hand, but into my arm and if people made themselves obvious that they dirtied whatever they hand me (like people putting money or a card in their mouth *shudders*) and use hand sanitizer right away so I don’t spread the germs to me or the next person! There are habits to be taken seriously for those who don’t want to be sick, it’s just a matter of being conscious to what you are handling and where your hands are going!

Leave a Reply

