Sneak Peek of “Why You Should Consider Self-Publishing”

Posted: January 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

This Thursday I will be teaching a class called “Why You Should Consider Self-Publishing” at 7 p.m. at the Ransom District Library in Plainwell, Michigan. I’ll be talking about several different self-publishing companies, telling about what I experienced publishing Illegally Innocent through Mill City Press, and sharing marketing ideas for selling your books. I thought I would give you a small glimpse of the type of information I will be covering in the class. (If you want to come to the class but already have other plans for this Thursday, I’ll be teaching it again on February 18 at 7 p.m. at the Otsego Library.)

One of the self-publishing companies I have been researching is lulu.com. Lulu has a wide range of book sizes available and can even publish calendars and photo books. If you want to self-publish a children’s book, you may want to check out Lulu. Their book package prices start at $729 and go up to $4949. You can publish for FREE on Lulu, but if you choose to publish for free, your book will only be available for sale on lulu.com, not on amazon.com or barnesandnoble.com or any other websites. However, if you do decide to pay, your book can be available for sale on other websites.

If you choose to create an eBook on lulu.com, it will not be available in the correct format for the Amazon Kindle, but it will be available to download in the Apple iBookstore, Barnes & Noble Nook Bookstore, and the Lulu Marketplace. eBook publishing packages on Lulu range in price from $219 to $379.

Hope this information has been helpful for those of you researching self-publishing companies! I will be sharing more about lulu.com and other self-publishing companies in “Why You Should Consider Self-Publishing.” Hope to see you there!

Comments
  1. Kaitlin says:

    I so wish I could come to this, especially since I’m trying to work on my book about my first five years of teaching!

Leave a Reply

