In a few days, November will be here, and so will NaNoWriMo! NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. You can check out the official website here: www.nanowrimo.org. There are not many rules–basically you start and finish a novel of 50,000+ words during the month of November.

I confess that I have never participated in NaNoWriMo before but have thought about doing it for several years now. Since I have been swamped with marketing Illegally Innocent the past several weeks and need to continue to promote it heavily during November (and want to start spending more time planning wedding details!), I do not want to commit to writing an ENTIRE novel during November. However, I do want to establish a smaller writing goal for the upcoming month. As of right now, I have written almost fifty pages of the sequel to Illegally Innocent, and the rest is in sort of an outline. Between now and November 30, I am planning to write through page 125 of this novel.

Have you thought about writing a novel for years but have never done it? Maybe this November you should try it! If you’re like me and writing an entire novel in a month seems like too much to handle right now, create a smaller writing goal. Maybe all you’ll write during the month of November is an article or one chapter of a book—that’s okay! Just try writing something.

P.S. If you do write something short in the next couple of weeks, submit it to my writing contest! I HAVE EXTENDED THE DEADLINE BY ONE WEEK—you now have until Monday, November 12, to submit an article, poem, short story, or creative nonfiction piece. Check out the rules on the homepage of my website, www.angelabaconbooks.com. You could win an Amazon.com gift card!

Leave a Reply

